top of page
  • seanriddle9

Final Project


Original project proposal: For this project I will be creating a roughly 1:1 scale model of the Jurassic Park gate. As featured in the blockbuster film, the gate is an iconic symbol of the park itself and is the first sight to greet guests on the tour road. The stone frame of the gate towers on either side of the road; an arch bridging the two towers proclaims the name ‘Jurassic Park’ above. Two large wooden doors in the middle swing open to welcome visitors. Sconces upon either side of the frame boast lit torches.


The gate will come in at around 33.5 feet tall and 38.5 ft wide in total. Renders of the model will be made in Adobe Dimension. I plan to make renders with the gate both closed and opened, in both daylight and nighttime lighting settings.


Renders:






Design process:

Figuring out the dimensions of this project was a bit of a challenge in and of itself. In order to approximate the size of the original gate, I used a screenshot from the film with a car visible in the shot, and looked up the dimensions of that car in order to compare it to the gate. In order to create the two main pillars, I created a sketch on the ground, and another sketch on an offset plane above the ground, and used the loft tool to connect them. Once those components were finished, I could mirror them across the z-axis. In order to create the arch, I used the sweep tool, creating one rectangular sketch on each side of the frame and a simple arc connecting them. I used an image canvas as reference in order to model the lettering on top of the gate; I traced the image with the line and fit point spline sketch tools, then extruded them as separate components. Each component is actually just a general outline of the letter; I went back in and cut the details in slightly. The indented part is red in the final render, where the outline is yellow. A big part of this model was using the joint tool for the first time; since I hadn't used it before, I had some trouble figuring out how it worked, but I eventually managed to create a joint along one of the long edges of the main door connecting it to the frame.


Process images:










4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page